
As we make our way along we start to make the journey to Ballycommon, we come to Townparks townland, in the Electoral Division of Daingean, in Civil Parish of Killaderry, in the Barony of Lower Philipstown, in the County of Offaly. The Irish name for Townparks is Páirceanna an Bhaile. Townparks townland in Daingean has the site of Fort Governor which was built in 1547 on the site of an O’Connor Castle stronghold.


along this line we come to one of the gems along this way, the Bord Na Mona lifting Bridge, It’s an interesting spot and a great location to get the camera out. From the late 18th century, the canal was used as a way to transport turf from different cutting points along the line. As trading long the canal was increasing rapidly and was even more encouraged when charges were abandoned, the one that was always a difficult trade to control was the “Turf”[1].

A few incidents along the line was reported, before the construction of the Circular line, including situations where turf traders, held up and demanded change to the dispatching and the price of turf. After a standoff with an angry crowd, that were armed with swords and guns. The canal company, compromised with the people and ordered that all boats display a clear sign with the price of their turf.
During this time quays were used along the canal to unload turf and an inspector was appointed to see the overall control of the Turf trade. By the early 19th century, a steady flow of boats travelled up and down the line, with up to 33,000 tons every year arriving for dispatch. G- Boats were the main boat used when transporting product and with a fixed toll now applied to all traders, this encouraged the use of greater loads.
(more…)

